Leadership

The GIDS has collegial leadership. The board of the GIDS is made up of Colonel Prof. Matthias Rogg, head of the Think Tank Steering Group at the BwCSC and Professor Burkhard Meißner, head of the “Network for Interdisciplinary Conflict Analyses – NICA” at the Helmut Schmidt Bundeswehr University in Hamburg.

In the future, the GIDS will be supported by a scientific advisory board consisting of experts from Germany and abroad, from different fields including the military, science, administration and politics. The advisory board’s task is to advise the executive group of the GIDS, particularly with regard to determining key research areas and initiatives and defining their relevance for strategic advice.

vlnr. Oberst i.G. Prof. Dr. Matthias Rogg und Prof. Dr. Burkhard Meißner

Colonel Prof. Dr. Matthias Rogg

Colonel Prof. Rogg is head of the Think Tank Steering Group at the Bundeswehr Command and Staff College (Hamburg). Previously, from 2010 to 2017, he was Founding Director of the Bundeswehr Museum of Military History in Dresden. Moreover, since 2013, he has been Professor of Modern and Contemporary History at the Helmut Schmidt Bundeswehr University in Hamburg and is therefore the first active Bundeswehr officer outside the Medical Service to receive a professorship. In 2000, Professor Rogg was awarded the Werner Hahlweg Prize at the German Historians’ Day in Aachen. The focal points of his scientific research are cultural and military history, the history of East Germany and historical education. He has published numerous books on cultural and intellectual history.

Prof. Dr. Burkhard Meißner

Professor Dr. Burkhard Meißner is responsible for managing the cooperation project GIDS – German Institute for Defense and Strategic Studies from the side of the Helmut Schmidt Bundeswehr University in Hamburg. Professor Meißner teaches and researches at the university in his position as Professor of Ancient History. In 1996, he qualified as a professor under Andreas Mehl with the thesis “Tradition und Technik. Studien zur Anwendung, Bewahrung und Erweiterung technischen Wissens in der Antike” [Tradition and Technology. Studies on the Implementation, Preservation and Enhancement of Technical Knowledge in Ancient Times], for which he received the Christian Wolff Prize from the University in Halle in 1997. He is, moreover, an active reserve officer. Professor Meißner has also published numerous works.

Die Leitung

Das GIDS steht unter einer kollegialen Leitung. Oberst Professor Matthias Rogg, Leiter der Steuergruppe Denkfabrik an der Führungsakademie der Bundeswehr, und Professor Burkhard Meißner, Leiter des „Netzwerks für interdisziplinäre Konfliktanalysen – NIKA“ an der Helmut-Schmidt-Universität / Universität der Bundeswehr Hamburg bilden gemeinsam den Vorstand des GIDS.

Dem GIDS wird künftig ein wissenschaftlicher Beirat an die Seite gestellt. Der Beirat wird sich aus Expertinnen und Experten aus dem In- und Ausland, u.a. aus den Bereichen Militär, Wissenschaft, Verwaltung und Politik, zusammensetzen. Aufgabe des Beirates ist die Beratung der Leitung des GIDS, insbesondere hinsichtlich der Festlegung von Forschungsschwerpunkten und -initiativen und deren Relevanz für den strategischen Beratungsbedarf.

vlnr. Oberst i.G. Prof. Dr. Matthias Rogg und Prof. Dr. Burkhard Meißner

Oberst Prof. Dr. Matthias Rogg

Oberst Professor Rogg ist Leiter der Steuergruppe Denkfabrik an der Führungsakademie der Bundeswehr (Hamburg). Zuvor war er von 2010 bis 2017 Gründungsdirektor des Militärhistorischen Museums der Bundeswehr in Dresden. Überdies ist er seit 2013 Professor für Neuere und Neueste Geschichte an der Helmut-Schmidt-Universität / Universität der Bundeswehr in Hamburg und damit erster aktiver Offizier der Bundeswehr außerhalb des Sanitätsdienstes, der eine Professur erhielt. Im Jahr 2000 wurde Professor Rogg auf dem Deutschen Historikertag in Aachen mit dem Werner-Hahlweg-Preis ausgezeichnet. Seine wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Kultur- und Militärgeschichte, der Geschichte der DDR und in der historischen Bildung. Er veröffentlichte zahlreiche Bücher zur Kultur- und Geistesgeschichte.

Prof. Dr. Burkhard Meißner

Professor Dr. Burkhard Meißner verantwortet die Steuerung des Kooperationsprojektes GIDS – German Institute for Defense and Strategic Studies auf Seiten der Helmut-Schmidt-Universität / Universität der Bundeswehr in Hamburg. Professor Meißner lehrt und forscht dort als Professor für Alte Geschichte. Er habilitierte sich 1996 bei Andreas Mehl mit der Schrift „Tradition und Technik. Studien zur Anwendung, Bewahrung und Erweiterung technischen Wissens in der Antike“, für die er 1997 von der Universität in Halle mit dem Christian-Wolff-Preis ausgezeichnet wurde. Er ist zudem aktiver Reserveoffizier. Auch von Professor Meißner liegen vielfältige Veröffentlichungen vor.